advertiser banner advertiser banner advertiser banner
Digital Issues

Second Opinions > Should NPO orders stand until consults a...

Should NPO orders stand until consults are completed?

I'm a new OR nurse manager in a small, rural, critical-access hospital. We seem to have a dilemma concerning patients awaiting surgical consults who aren't being held NPO. This causes delays, sometimes for 6 to 8 hours, in the resulting surgical procedures (not emergent ones) because patients have been fed. Those that fed the patients argue that they didn't want them to be hungry. However, the case delays mean overtime for employees who have to stay after hours to do the surgery.

Does anyone have suggestions or information I can present to educate and back up the importance of maintaining NPO until the surgical consult is done?

Started by: Sheryl Lefort (OR Manager/Supervisor) at February 20, 2013 (11:57 am)

Comments and Responses

View: earliest first

I agree with Kim S. Scheduled without a consult? Are we discussing emergent cases? Is there some question about why the patient was scheduled in the first place?
Maybe your institution should clarify the requirements for scheduling. This being an outpatient surgery discussion one could assume the surgeon had already been approached about the patient.

The ASA guidelines regarding npo are clear. 6 hours solid and 2 hours clear. anything else can only proceed if it is emergent (documented such by surgeon)and not just necessary to proceed so the surgeon can make his/her golf time. I agree patient comfort is important but this sounds more like a process problem.

Bruce Demko (Anesthesiologist/Nurse Anesthetist) at February 22, 2013 (11:53 pm)